Method for evaluating filter capture efficiency based on the loss of viability of pathogenic agents



Building and livestock management | Health and biosecurity

Aim / objectives:
Develop a method for evaluating filter capture efficiency that is suited to mechanical filters rather than antimicrobial filters.
  • Optimize the parameters of using of a dust feeder for the dispersion of non-biological particles in a test bed (i.e. in a wind tunnel), while ensuring the requirements met  ASHRAE 52.2 .standard;
  • Evaluate the feasibility of adding lyophilized (or non-lyophilized) cultures of bacteriophages (biological agents) to the dust generated by the dust feeder;
  • Determine uncertainties in particle generation and sampling methods;
  • Define an experimental method having adequate statistical power to determine the efficiency of the capture of the evaluated filters;
  • Evaluate the capture efficiency of various types of filters (mechanical and antimicrobial) over a long period of time (long-term tests to simulate the useful life of a filter);
  • Test already-used antimicrobial filters that have been utilized in livestock buildings over several years and compare their capture efficiency with the capture efficiency of new filters.

Michaël Dion, responsable R-D, Protair-X; Caroline Duchaine, professor, Université Laval, département de biochimie, de microbiologie et de bio-informatique (IUCPQ); Stéphane Godbout, PhD, and technicien, Institut de recherche et de développement en agroenvironnement (IRDA); Valérie Létourneau, IUCPQ.
Funding Partners:
Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ) - Programme de développement sectoriel; Laboratoire de Dre Caroline Duchaine (IUCPQ); Centre de développement du porc du Québec inc. (CDPQ); Centre de recherche en sciences animales de Deschambault; Protair-X; Institut de recherche et de développement en agroenvironnement (IRDA). 
Project Manager:
Christian Klopfenstein; Sébastien Turcotte
CDPQ Team:
Jean-Gabriel Turgeon; Marie-Aude Ricard; Patrick Gagnon; Technical Team.