Committee On Research, Development And Knowledge Transfer In The Swine Industry

Commonly called : Swine industry’s RDT Committee

Mandates :

Based on the elements derived from the diagnosis on the strengths, weaknesses and opportunities of our current R & D model in the Quebec pork sector and what emerged during the FORUM held on September 27, 2017, to propose:
  • a mechanism for identifying research, development and innovation priorities in response to the needs of all segments of the pork industry;
  • an implementation plan for this mechanism;
  • identification of concrete ways to improve networking between public and private partners;
  • encourage the implementation of new collaborations, joint initiatives and project implementation, involving multidisciplinary teams from various organizations;
  • an effective formula to respond quickly to evolving priorities of the value chain, including a communication approach to direct the necessary resources;
  • concrete improvements to be made to the granting agencies regarding research funding measures;
  • recommendations for the swine sector, derived from the analysis of models applied in the mining and forestry sectors;
  • an action plan to improve transfer and distribution activities;
  • advice on major projects with benefits for the entire industry.
Composition :
Professionals recognized for their knowledge or involvement in research and development in the swine industry, under the chairmanship of a member of the Board of Directors of the CDPQ.

committee members:

  • Marie-Pierre Létourneau Montminy, Université Laval
Centre de développement du porc du Québec inc. (CDPQ)
  • Renée Caron
  • Frédéric Fortin
Les Éleveurs de porcs du Québec
  • Raphaël Bertinotti
  • Yvan Fréchette
Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ)
  • Sarah-Claude Vanlandeghem
Private institutions
  • Dan Bussières, Groupe Cérès inc.
  • Daniel Godbout, GenusPIC
  • Jacquelin Labrecque, Ro-Main
  • Éric Pouliot, Olymel
  • Francis Simard, Nutreco
Research and teaching institutions
  • Carl Gagnon, Université de Montréal, FMV
  • Stéphane Godbout, IRDA
  • Marie-Pier Létourneau-Montminy, Université Laval, FSAA
  • Yan Martel, CRSAD
  • Isabelle Royer, AAC